Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Ixtapa Fine Mexican Cuisine. We'd love to have your feedback!

Which location did you visit?

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Ixtapa Fine Mexican Cuisine and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Kwwhee79 3 months ago

Quesadillas

The quesadillas were quite tasty. The guacamole was delicious. I wish I had ordered a side of it. The pics was good as well. The chips were fresh and the salsa was excellent. My daughter had the beef tacos. She enjoyed them as well. When I went in to pick up the food, I was impressed with the decor. For now we'll order take out again. Once things are more normal, we will dine at the restaurant.

Donna 3 months ago

(3) Tacos Adobados

It was a generous serving of three tacos filled with tender marinated steak. The side of rice was flecked with bits of vegetables. The guacamole and pick de gallo were both delicious. I can't wait to try more items on the extensive menu.l

Strmchsr9 3 months ago

#8 Chiles Rellenos A La Diabla (very spicy)

Very colorful dish with incredible flavor. The heat was just right and didn't interfere. I had this stuffed with shrimp. Some folks might not love the slight bit of sweetness in the sauce,b but others will. Don't miss the queso fundido either. The tomatillo sauce makes all the difference.

Davey 4 months ago

#24 Steak Picado

This was my 3rd time eating Ixtapa but my first time at the Overland Park one. Our waiter brought us a complimentary taco. A person can fill up on how great the flavors of the pre meal salsa and chips are. I was going to get the regular carne asada plate but the owner talked me into the carne picado. As someone who doesn't do spicy foods well, it was the right amount of tangy over spicy. I've never had a bad meal at Ixtapa. I miss a lot of Mexican food from California but this place makes up for it.

Jeff 4 months ago

Enmoladas

This mole is amazing! best in town!

Kathy 4 months ago

Molcajete

This dish was amazing!! A true authentic Mexican recipe! Can't wait to try other menu items. The owner and his staff give exceptional service.

Roger 4 months ago

#1 (3) Tacos

Food was good

Stephen 4 months ago

#40 Pollo Chapala (spicy)

Amazing!!!! Best Mexican food I've ever had

Cristynwatkins 5 months ago

#20 (5) Tacos Rancheros

We have been going to Ixtapa for several Years now and love it! We alway have queso fundido and tacos rancheros, but everything we have had is delicious.

Laura 5 months ago

#7 Chiles Rellenos A La Crema

This restaurant is as it says in the name Fine Dining. Think Mexico City rather than El Paso, and at a reasonable price. While they have most of the dishes you will find at other area Mexican restaurants, they have many dishes you will not find elsewhere. I had the Chile Rellenos a la Crema, and it was delicious. Two roasted poblano peppers filled with white wine cream sauce, shrimp, sliced mushrooms, peppers, corn kernals and spices. The service was excellent. While I was waiting for my food, the proprietor brought me a sample of the quesodillas de flor colobozo, and it was delicious as well. This is now my go to Mexican restaurant. I just hope they can survive opening in the time of a pandemic.

Megm86 5 months ago

Taquitos

The host is amazingly knowledgeable in all of his food. We had no idea what to order--so he suggested a tour of Mexico. So they brought our group a little bit of everything to try. I definitely suggest this option if you are trying to get a feel for the place! The food was AH-MAZING. I am from Cali and tend to find a lot of the Mexican places here aren't truly Mexican, but more tex mex-- covered in cheese and sauce and just way too heavy. This was light, so fresh and everything I missed about home. The homemade corn tortillas will make you never want to eat store bought ones again. The chicken was tender, white meat, and the shrimp delicious. I will definitely be sending people this way for a great Mexican food experience

30treynolds30 5 months ago

#15 Camarones A La Diabla (very spicy)

I went for my birthday and it was so good! The owner recommended each of our dishes and they were perfect. Everything from appetizer to entree to dessert, it was all so good. Great drinks including mezcal and great food, I'll definitely be back.

Tiffanybuescher 5 months ago

#36 Pollo A La Crema

One of my favorite restaurants!! I am so excited you have a location in Overland Park now!

Shelley 5 months ago

#38 Pollo Adobado

I love #38, the seasoned bbq chicken and usually get this dish every time, and occassionally have #37 which is a simple tasty, citrus chicken dish with corn tortillas. My husband usually says just make me something and they get creative. He and I started going to Guadalajara Cafe while dating in the late 90's. When we moved to Parkville and found Ixtapa we were so happy. Victor won our hearts and stomachs for life! This has been our favorite place for true Mexican pre-kids and our girls have grown up knowing the family and food since they opened in 2004 up north. We've been enjoying the Northland location family, food and delightful margaritas for over 15 years. We always take friends and family to Ixtapa and it feels like home right when we walk in. We are recognized and made to feel like family coming over for dinner. My kids love it, too and we also love the salsa, guac and again, I can't pass up the yummy perfect margaritas. The ice cream is a must if you even just get one to share! They also accommodate our gluten-free allergies so well. I know many friends who order food regularly for take out. This is not your typical fast food Mexican or Tex -Mex, but fresh, flavorful and wonderful food and atmosphere. Obviously, I can't say enough! Thank you Ixtapa for serving great food, service and atmosphere that is like no other. Cheers!

Bbartmann 6 months ago

Molcajete

We had such a delightful evening. Our first time at IXTAPA in Overland Park. We started with the Guacamole Dip and four mini tacos with goat cheese. Then we had a queso fundido, a cheese, onion and mushroom dish that was spectacular abd served with homemade tortilla shells. My husband and I shared the Molcajete dish, and topped everything off with two spectacular desserts we shared with another couple. You have to try the homemade ice cream and the homemade Cheesecake like dessert that had to have come from heaven. This is a MUST if you want real, authentic Mexican food...TexMex is available for you Gringos.

Anna 6 months ago

#15 Camarones A La Diabla (very spicy)

The food was amazing and staff members were very friendly and helpful. The shrimp was fresh and sauce was delicious!

Busterwolf2 6 months ago

#31 Pork Oaxaca

The manager personally came to our table and told us all about how each of the appetizers we ordered were made, and suggested this dish for me and said I would not be disappointed. He was correct, the pork was cooked to perfection and juicy all of vegetables were fresh and very flavorful, and the scratched made tortillas we toasted well. It was very delicious. My only regret was that I didn't save room for dessert. I will be returning to keep exploring their amazing menu options!

Haytera 6 months ago

#13 Camarones A La Crema

This shrimp dish is so delicious! I order this every time and I am never disappointed!

Flautapantera06 6 months ago

#41 Pollo Ixtapa (spicy)

My go-to! The pollo diablo is incredible, arroz con pollo superb, the pork special mouthwatering. Ixtapa is a weekly destination for me and I tell everyone I know that Ixtapa is where to go for the best authentic Mexican in KC!

Jayneneeley 6 months ago

#76 Enchilada & Taco

Delicious! I'm thrilled to have this in Overland Park!

Tkobe 3 months ago

#43 Pollo Mariposa

amazing dish, great flavor. Wife had another chicken dish which was also fantastic, with the mole sauce. Owner, Victor, is so friendly and attentive. Servers are all top notch and provide great customer service. Cannot wait to go back soon!

Elanadavis 3 months ago

#34 Enchiladas En Mole

Delicious enchiladas! Whenever I go out for Mexican food and see Enchiladas En Mole on the menu, without fail it's what I order. Mole sauce is hard to get right but Ixtapa nails it. The sauce was extremely flavorful and well layered; slightly sweet, slightly spicy, and delightfully rich just like mole sauce should be. I've now recommended Ixtapa to all the Mexican-food connoisseurs I know, and cannot wait to return!

Doug 4 months ago

#12 Camarones Ixtapa (spicy)

We dined on Saturday evening and had a fantastic time. Victor arranged a special menu for us which included Camarones Ixtapa, but also a variety of other specialties of the house. We have dined with Victor for nearly 20 years - in various of his restaurants. We LOVE this restaurant! We highly recommend Ixtapa - knowing that you will love it too!

Jleonardkc 4 months ago

Tacos Camellitos

I had the most top notch margarita made my favorite way—fresh lime juice, top shelf tequila, grand marnier....yum! And the tacos camellitas were so delicious. I can't wait to come back!

Ghorner68 4 months ago

#22 (5) Tacos Chidos

Oh so flavorful! Tacos will never be the same. The flour tortillas were so soft. The seasoning on the chicken was amazing. Topped off with cilantro! YUM! We are ordering dinner for the 2nd time this week from Ixtapa!

Bianca 4 months ago

#22 (5) Tacos Chidos

I LOVE THESE TACOS! My husband and I got chicken and steak and it was glorious ❤️

Eleanneh 4 months ago

Quesadillas De Flor De Calabaza

Ixtapa is our FAVORITE Mexican restaurant and we are so, so excited to see that the Overland Park location is open now. I couldn't believe when I saw one opening so much closer to home for us. Everything we've ever tried at Ixtapa is amazing, but my all time fav is the quesadillas de flor de calabaza. Try them!

Lamzdiv 5 months ago

#34 Enchiladas En Mole

OUTSTANDING! Can't say enough good things! I was so excited to see a second location close to me. I've had the Enchiladas en mole twice and recently, the Chili Rellenos with shrimp and mushrooms in a heavenly cream sauce. This time we also tried the Queso Fundido and a house-made dessert. The margaritas are also good. I will be back! Maybe once a week! ¡Delicioso!

Amymvh 5 months ago

#43 Pollo Mariposa

Ixtapa has been our favorite Mexican restaurant for years! We were so excited when it opened in Overland Park! We ordered the Pollo mariposa and while it seems like perhaps it's changed a bit since the last time we had it, it is still delicious! The chicken is juicy and the spices are spot on! Well done, Ixtapa!

Camillea 5 months ago

#80 Chicken Tenders & Fries

Amazing food:)

Elliott 5 months ago

#20 (5) Tacos Rancheros

Everything here is delicious, but these tacos are my new favorite!

Marpranpwc 5 months ago

Tacos Camellitos

I love these so much. Took my cousin from out of town here-she loves this place, too! Highly recommend! We've tried several things on the menu, and have not been disappointed.

Comiskey 5 months ago

(3) Tacos Adobados

So excited to have this in Overland Park! We have been three time since it opened and each time the food was wonderful!

Johnnyb28 6 months ago

#33 Pollo En Mole

Best Mole sauce I've had! Was dipping my chips in it after using up the tortillas that came with it.

Jason 6 months ago

#26 Steak Mariposa

Stopped in for the first time and was immediately welcomed by the staff, and owner. Very welcoming and friendly. The OP location has a nice, clean interior. I let the owner pick my dish based off what type of protein I was in the mood for. His choice was the Steak Mariposa and it did not disappoint! Flavorful meat and tasty rice and beans. Oh, the guac on the side was delicious as well! We were brought out two sample street style tacos to see how we liked them... Excellent again! We will most certainly return to try out more of the menu!

Rstover23 6 months ago

#41 Pollo Ixtapa (spicy)

This is my favorite Mexican place! Love the salsa on the chicken ixtapa and love the guacamole.

Mattie 6 months ago

#36 Pollo A La Crema

I have been going here for over a decade and it is my absolute favorite Mexican restaurant. The service is always amazing, they have great recommendations, and their special ice cream is to die for.

Catherine 6 months ago

#31 Pork Oaxaca

We 10 out of 10 recommend Ixtapa. We had a wonderful experience. The staff was very attentive, and the owner was every involved and spent a lot of timing explaining their cuisine and getting to know what food we were in the mood for. He actually ordered our food for us. It was exciting to be surprised by the food, and everything was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Julie 6 months ago

#5 Burrito Carne Asada

Superb!

Nsloey 6 months ago

#21 (5) Tacos Tapatios

The tacos are always so good. This is the best in KC metro and so authentic.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA